Audience Measurements For My Documentary (Year 2)

This is a list of the audience measurements that I will be using for my documentary project:

  • Who is your primary target audience?

My primary target audience for my documentary will be young people and people that are currently attending college or are at university. This will be anyone between the ages of 16 and 25. This is due to my questionnaire results, where the majority of the responses I got were people in that age range group and also a lot of people who responded to the questionnaire also though that this specific age range would be more suitable to target for a documentary.

Also, a lot of young people and children are interested in the Marvel and DC movies and tend to be bigger fans of these movies too. Making my primary audience young people that are currently in college or university are most likely going to be interested in watching this type documentary, than someone that is younger or older would. I am not going to rule it out though, so I do have a back up target audience, if my primary target audience isn’t as successful.

Image result for young people

  • Who might be a secondary audience for your documentary?

If I needed a secondary target audience, as a back up, if something goes wrong with my primary target audience, I would aim this at the older generation, anyone that 26 years old or older, as these people may have less knowledge of this fandom or less of an interest in this fandom because they didn’t grow up with all these superhero movies and TV Shows. So, I will be including some information about the fandom to help achieve this secondary or backup target audience, if my primary target audience doesn’t work out.

Also, I will have more room to try to persuade parents and middle-aged people to help keep this fandom alive and why they should care because with a lot of people who are 26 or older, they tend to not care about the Marvel and DC material as much.

Image result for people in their 40s

  • What demographics/psychographics do you want to watch your documentary and why?

The demographic that I’ll most likely be aiming my documentary at is either Class C or Class D, as these are the “classes” of people that are most likely going to be able to be invested in the fandom. People that are Class C and Class D (Middle Class) tend to like superhero movies and TV Shows more and are willing to pay £10 for a cinema trip once or twice a month, in order to watch these superhero movies. Due to this not being the most accurate system to rely to target my audience for my documentary, I will also have a psychographic which I’ll be targeting at for my documentary too.

Image result for middle class people

I will most likely be targeting my documentary at a mainstream audience, as this seems to be the main psychographic that most Hollywood movies and TV Shows target at. Also, this type of audience are interested in discovering something new and being part of a bigger community. This is also a professionally recognised psychographic, so it would be good practice for me to aim my documentary at a mainstream audience, ready for when I start to do this more professionally in the future. This will help with the type of content and information that I’ll include in the documentary. It’ll be easier for me to target at a mainstream audience, so I can tell them about this big community and help persuade them to join this big community, so they can be part of a bigger group.

 

 

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started